Red Green Repeat Adventures of a Spec Driven Junkie

Fantasy of a Sale; Reality of Rejection

I was at a social event for businesses and I shared how I was starting my own business. The person asked how I acquired customers - a key in every business and I mentioned I was doing it the old way: door-to-door sales.

“And how is that going??”

Honestly, sales is rough - there’s two sides to a sale:

Fantasy of a Sale; Reality of Rejection

No sales book ever talks about the rejection part of the sales process. It… doesn’t sell. So, almost all books I’ve read so far focus on the fantasy side. Things to say, not say, how to act, etc.

Almost avoiding what can happen at every stage of a sale.

The rejection can come in different ways - the clear ones are the kind ones: a straight up “no”. The rough ones are the no replies after a long time - the potential client just doesn’t provide clarity and you must decide if there is a rejection or not.

The hardest part is not the rejection itself - it’s what do you do after the rejection.

How do you pick yourself up?

That’s the most important part - what do you do in the new reality of rejection? How do you dissolve the fantasy of the sale you just had?

Like all rejections in life - you move on. Time always helps. A new fantasy as well.

Ultimately, it’s only you that decides what to do after a rejection and one’s own ambition is the biggest indicator of how well one adapts to the new reality.